Stage 2 Competency Claim

The writers at have written several Stage 2 competency claim documents. If you seek our Stage 2 competency claim writing service, you will be required to provide us your previously submitted CDR and CV. You will also be asked some additional information in case you gained more experience after submitting your CDR. But if you haven’t submitted your CDR, you will be asked few questions related to your professional experience for writing stronger claims.

What is Stage 2 Competency Standard?

The depth of knowledge and skill base, engineering application capabilities, values and attributes of the profession that must be demonstrated so as to practice independently and unsupervised as an Engineering professional in Australia is known as Stage 2 Competency Standard. It goes far beyond the ability to just perform specific tasks. The stage 2 competency standard is the assessment parameter for Chartered membership for Engineers’ Australia (CEngA). Not limited to this, the individual also gets registered with National Engineering Register (NER). It is a professional credential accepted by the governments and business houses all over the world. Achieving CEngA status brings with it a lifelong obligation to maintain a certain level of competence in the given area. 

There are four units to be considered while applying for Stage 2 Competency claim. Those are personal commitment, an obligation to the community, values followed at the workplace and technical proficiency. 

Personal Commitment

This unit of competence requires you to demonstrate:
 how you deal with ethical issues when they arise
 how you develop and define your areas of competence
 how you display a personal sense of responsibility for your work.

Obligation to Community

‘Community’ will change depending on the nature of the work you are doing. Sometimes it will be the client; sometimes the general public; sometimes your students; sometimes the regulatory authorities and sometimes it will be your employer. This unit of competence requires you to demonstrate:
 how you delivered a safe and sustainable solutions
 how you defined the community and considered the community benefit at various stages of engineering activities (within the context of your work)
 how you identified and managed the risks associated with the engineering activities
 how you incorporated legal and regulatory requirements into your solutions.

Value in the Workplace

This unit of competency requires you to demonstrate:
 how you collaborate and work with others
 how you work within an organisation to provide value for stakeholders
 how you initiate, plan, lead or manage and secure financial and other material resources to support engineering activities.
 How you apply your professional judgement.

Technical Proficiency

This unit of competency requires you to demonstrate:
 how you use advanced engineering science
 how you make effective use of engineering knowledge provided by other people
 how you analyse problems and how you develop creative and innovative solutions
 how you evaluate the outcomes and impacts of engineering activities.

Structure of the Stage 2 Standard

The structure of the Stage 2 Competency Standard is divided into two parts:

Part A: The Competencies

There are fourteen units or major areas. Three of them are core units common to every area of engineering practice. Eleven are elective units from which two units that are suitable to their specific area of practice are selected by the candidates. Those are listed below:

Core Units:

C1 Engineering Practice
C2 Engineering Planning and Design
C3 Self-Management in the Engineering Workplace

Elective Units:

E1A Engineering Business Management or
E1B Engineering Project Management
E2 Engineering Operations
E3 Materials/Components/Systems
E4A Environmental Management or
E4B Investigation and Reporting
E5 Research, Development and Commercialization
E6 Sourcing and Estimating Materials
E7 Change and Technical Development
E8 Technical Sales and Promotion
E9 Engineering Education

There are several elements in each unit. There are a series of activities, or results capable of being measured, describing ways of demonstrating the Element, within each Element. These are called Defining Activities. An Element can be demonstrated by showing that the candidates have successfully performed most or all of the defining activities. A Core Unit can be demonstrated by demonstrating all Elements within the Unit by the candidates. An Elective Unit can be demonstrated by demonstrating the stipulated Elements within the Unit.

Part B: The Standards

Each occupational category has a separate standard. The description of respective roles are reflected by the standards. They are categorised in following sections:

Professional Engineers: They are responsible for engineering projects in most far-reaching sense. The most important tasks they handle are solution development for difficult problems, confirming that technical and non-technical considerations are properly integrated in a project and risk management.

Engineering Technologists: They specialize in the theory and practice of specific engineering branch and its application, adaptation and management in a variety of contexts. They also look over technical project management.

Engineering Associates: They are more focused on practical execution of engineering work or the conduct of engineering operations. In addition they also look over the application of recognized standards and codes of practice in familiar as well as unfamiliar conditions.

Assessment against the Stage 2 Standards

The process starts from inviting the candidates to apply for assessment in the occupational category that they believe will suitably reflect their qualifications, experience and achievements. Following are the components of the assessment:

Has the Stage 1 competency been demonstrated by the candidate through accredited or recognized qualification, or otherwise? If a candidate does not hold an accredited or recognized qualification in the concerned category, and has not otherwise formally demonstrated Stage 1 competency, he/she should apply for Stage 1 assessment first. In certain cases, it may be possible to undertake Stage 1 and Stage 2 assessments simultaneously; advice should be sought before proceeding.
Has each of the Units of Competency been demonstrated in Part A (the three Core Units along with two Elective Units) by performing most or all of the Defining Activities?
Has the candidate demonstrated the Units to the Standard set out in Part B, for the concerned category of occupation?
 In the context of this occupational category, has the demonstration of each Unit been:

  • Strong
  • Satisfactory
  • Weak
  • Not acceptable (insufficient and needing further development, or no evidence provided)?

These factors are used to assess whether or not a candidate has demonstrated Stage 2 competency in the chosen occupational category or not.

Intricacies of Stage 2 Competency Report

The engineers must first compile the information and proofs about their experience, projects handled and other relevant things. Some of the critical components of assessment are Curriculum Vitae, passport-style photo and details, clear mention of each job title and associated roles/responsibilities etc. The intended meaning in the document should be adequately conveyed to the reader i.e. Engineers Australia. The report should be proofread several times and grammatical errors should be checked. The report must be plagiarism free as well.

We at provide complete assistance in preparing your Stage 2 Competency Assessment documents. Get in touch if you need to get your Stage 2 assessment done!

WhatsApp WhatsApp us